Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast

Thread: Tips on teaching someone to snowboard

Tips on teaching someone to snowboard

I'm going to Austria for a week's snowboarding with a buddy who has 0 experience.
    We're going for a chill week, so we don't wanna be taking lessons or crap like that, so it's going to fall to me to teach him the basics.

Now snowboarding for yourself is one thing, but teaching someone else to do so is another.

I'm not an expert snowboarder. I have about 5 weeks of snowboarding experience, can take turns smoothly and rapidly without effort on easy and medium slopes, but I have to really work hard and put a lot of effort in on black slopes, so by that you can kinda judge my level.

I've already googled around a bit and found some basic tips like teaching him to scoot, teaching him to just slide down and then teaching him the falling leaf motion. I assume it won't be too difficult to get him that far, but what comes next is taking connecting turns. How do you teach someone that? I know I have to emphasize on a lot of weight shifting and stuff but what is a good way to bring that across?

Any other hints? I'm also afraid of seeing him unload the lift for the first time, that's going to be fun :P

edited for grammar-cop fridg
    Last edited by NoBigThing; 02-18-2011 at 03:36 AM.

Well for me an important point was to always keep your front hand (I'm regular so my left hand) straight - a lot of the time it'll lean back or forward which really puts you off your turns.

I'm not sure if there's any really good teacher but experience - he's going to have to learn to flow with the board and its counter-intuitive feeling. Gravity is your friend, not your enemy, and when he stops fearing falling over he's going to do it a lot less.

It also depends how good he is - it took me about four days or so to learn turns, and then honestly I only felt like I doing them well by my 10th day or so, and I've only done like 15, if that.