PDA

View Full Version : Tutorial for intermediate

Fierce_Potato
03-29-2004, 11:55 PM
Ok, Got a situation here. Im not a bad artist. I have been able to look at many of samwises drawings and then draw them over again just by looking at them. Not tracing. My problem, is that I never know how I should draw each part of the character. Like, how the face should look, what position and so on. I have a good idea, but im not quite sure how I would go about drawing it. I dont wanna say anything cus one a u might take my idea. =) Any tips for getting started on my own drawings? I mean do u guys start out with jsut ovals and stuff at first? cus my problem is that I try and detail each opart to quickly. ie, I will detail his entire face and then ive up after i make his neck and arms look like shit. Ill try and give u guys some of the pics that I redrew. :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam:

HYPOCalvin
03-30-2004, 12:31 AM
u probably don't want to face teh fact, but the key to drawing just about everything is basic shapes or blocking things out, light sketching etc.
if u want to draw a person like samwise does or any other accomplished artist, u will need to learn how to draw the stuff in the basic shapes first. that means u will need to get rid of ur habit of drawing details.
go really broad.
for example, wut I wud do is draw the entire body first, put the layout on the page. so that way, i won't be finished drawing the torso and then my feet won't hav room. that wud suk.
once i layed out my format, i would check the anatomy. no details yet, just making sure the proportions are correct.
after that, draw the smaller stuff, like the PLACEMENT of the fingers legs, muscles, and where the everthing would be located.